top of page
Search
  • rubyspoppy

30 packets of lard


I am doing a sponsored weight loss for Backup North West. Why?


I’ve gained 4 stones in 2 years and was already overweight then. I was 21 stones exactly on the 10th June 2021. So a way to go. As Backup are looking forward to the big 30 next year I thought I would aim high and go low; weight wise. 30lbs is ok, but is it sponsorship level? Nope. 30kgs is though. That’s 66lbs. 132 packets of lard. That would take me to 16 stone 7lbs…………… so really I should keep going as I was 15 stones in 2016/17 and that was still a bit high. 14 stone 7 would be the best. For me. I’ll do it in stages.


18 days in and I’ve lost 30 of those packets of lard. (I know some of it’s water; don’t bother bursting my bubble)


· I want to get in the shower without touching all sides getting in and out.

· I want to do more stuff with the kids, be more active.

· I want to walk more.

· I want to be healthier.

· I want to go to Blackpool Pleasure beach without the fear of getting on and fitting in the rides.

· I don’t want to be asking for 4XL gown at the spa.

· I do not want a seatbelt extender next time I get on a plane!


How? I have counted calories and used my fitness pal on my phone. That’s it. In those calories have been salads, fruit, vegetables but there has also been a couple of nights out with a curry at Spice Valley Horwich and an amazing steak at Nicks of Bolton. I’ve cut down the alcohol, 4 vodkas in 3 weekends. It was 6 or 7 vodkas once a week and if I was lucky (in between lockdowns) a few cocktails too.





I’m going to do that once a month or whenever I like as long as the calories stack up.


I don’t know how long it will last, or how long reaching my goal will take. Ideally I need to hit the 66lb target in 2022 at some point. If it’s before then bonus but that’s not realistic and I am trying to make lasting change, not faddy quick fixes. Been there; done that.


My plan is to move from a size 24 back to a size 16 and stay there. That’s the size that suits me best and I’ve been every size from a 12 to a 30. If I can do all this and raise money for Backup then why not??



If you see me on social media on the Big One then I have done it. Please sponsor me anytime between now and March 2022, we need every penny we can this year to support our mental Health services for young people.


Backup, helping young people to get backup and stay backup; yet motivating me to get back down and stay back down.




109 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page